Book Review | Colleen Hoover

Well, I honestly didn’t expect to enjoy her books It Ends With Us or It Starts With Us as much as I did.

Booktok has a habit of feeding me posts, and over promoting the same books, which I guess works as it eventually leads me to want to read them, or at least removes some of the indecisiveness when it comes to picking out a new book to read from the 1000’s on the shelves, both physical and digital.

I managed to get the two Colleen Hoover books through a Kindle Unlimited trial, as audiobooks so I read them back to back, and thus got through them quite quickly.

The thing that stood out the most for me is that they’re just nice books, the characters are, mostly, nice, the flow of the story is nice and the progression is nice. That doesn’t mean that everything that happens to the characters is also nice, or the story would be incredibly boring. They of course have their ups and downs, but overall I was left finishing the first book and wanting to read the next in the series, that is also the prequal. This was not an intense desire to do so right away, and I could have read something else, and if it wasn’t available I wouldn’t have been upset, but as they were there it was an easy choice to continue in Lily, Atlas and Ryles lives.

If you’re looking to fill a spot and you don’t mind what you read then I would recommend either of these books, however if you have a TBR pile the size of a giraffe, without adding them on, then I would perhaps grab something from there instead.

Should I try one of her other books, if so which one?

G x