Book Review | Eye for an Eye by M.J. Arlidge

OMG this has to be one of the best books I’ve read this year.

One of the members of my book club is a probation officer and this made me think of her and the amount she has to do in her day, just to do her day job.

I’m quite happy with my sheltered life, not worrying that anything like the contents of this book happens in my life, though it quite obviously does happen in the wider world, and I’m eternally grateful for my position. So please be aware there are a lot of trigger warnings for this book, so please check those before you start reading!

I gave this book 4 stars and it was only because there were a couple of times that the story repeated itself, however as I was listening to it, I think this was more irritating than it would have been had I been reading it. I appreciate that sometimes the repetition is needed to refresh you in a story when reading an e-book or physical book as there is more picking it up and putting it down again, I tend to listen to books for a large part of my day and can finish this length audiobook in about 2 days.

There were characters I hated, there were characters I loved, and the way both the sides of the recently released prisoners and their victims families was portrayed was interesting, as well as the internal battle that a person can face when presented with the details of the person, who in most cases, ruined their past.

I really don’t want to say too much as I don’t want to give anything away, but I must say this is one of the books I finished earlier in the year and it has stuck with me, it’s not like anything else I’ve read when it comes to the perspectives, and it’s absolutely worth a read.

Have you read this book?

G x